IND vs SA- Interesting match between India vs South Africa in the first ODI

Exciting Showdown as Young Indian Talents Take Center Stage in Opening ODI Against South Africa

Image Showing IND vs SA- Interesting match between India vs South Africa in the first ODI

India’s young and talented players are ready to showcase their skills in the upcoming ODI match against South Africa at the Wanderers on Sunday. This marks the beginning of India’s journey into the future of One Day International cricket.

Some people might doubt the importance of an ODI series, especially with the T20 World Cup coming up. However, for both India and South Africa, this series is significant as it marks the emergence of new talent, setting the stage for the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025.

What- India vs South Africa, 1st ODI

Where- New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Start Time- 1:30 PM IST

All eyes will be on KL Rahul as he takes on the role of captain for India in this three-match series.

KL Rahul has previously filled in as India’s captain, but if he performs well in this series, he could secure the ODI captaincy for a more extended period.

Alongside players like Rahul, Ruturaj Gaikwad (if he has recovered from the illness that kept him out of the T20Is), and Shreyas Iyer, who have demonstrated their skills before, there are others keen to compete for a spot in India’s white-ball plans.

Rinku Singh has made a strong impression with his performances in T20Is this year. The team management is now excited to see him transition to the 50-over format, and there’s a possibility that the left-hander might make his ODI debut soon.

Rajat Patidar, consistently scoring runs in domestic cricket, and Bhardwaj Sai Sudarshan, showing promise in the Vijay Hazare Trophy for Tamil Nadu, might also get a chance in international cricket. They are being considered for middle-order slots alongside Tilak Varma.

The Indian team management is optimistic that these young players can perform well against a South African bowling attack that is missing rested Kagiso Rabada and injured Anrich Nortje.

India will be without their three key pacers, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj, who played crucial roles in the recent ODI World Cup.

Bumrah and Siraj will be part of the Test series, but Shami won’t be joining the tour as he did not receive fitness clearance from the BCCI medical team.

With senior players absent, the responsibility falls on bowlers like Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, and Arshdeep Singh to lead India’s pace department. Despite a commendable performance in the final T20I against South Africa at this venue, they will need to demonstrate consistent efforts.

Their role is crucial, and it’s non-negotiable because the availability of Bumrah and other senior players in the future is uncertain. The Johannesburg pitch unexpectedly favored spin in the third T20I, and India is fortunate to have three seasoned spinners—Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, and Yuzvendra Chahal—who bring experience to the team.

India may consider giving off-spinner Washington Sundar a chance, who can also contribute as a top-order batter.

However, the focus will be on leg-spinner Chahal, who showcased his skills in the Vijay Hazare Trophy for Haryana. He’s eager to demonstrate that he remains a significant force in white-ball cricket.

Chahal was absent from India’s World Cup squad and also didn’t feature in the T20Is against Australia at home.

Now, at 33 years old, he’s eager to showcase his skills, hoping to get an opportunity to bowl and make a positive impression on the selectors.

Sanju Samson, designated as the backup wicketkeeper behind Rahul, is eager to play a match or two in the series. He has been overlooked by selectors for a significant part of the season and is looking forward to contributing to the field.

Complete Squads


KL Rahul (Captain, wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Akash Deep.

South Africa

Aiden Markram (Captain), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams.