HBL PSL 9, 2024 Match 14- Multan Sultans crush Lahore Qalandars by 60 runs

Today, at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Multan Sultans defeated Lahore Qalandars by a whopping 60 runs in Match 14 of the HBL PSL 2024.

Image Showing HBL PSL 9, 2024 Match 14- Multan Sultans crush Lahore Qalandars by 60 runs

Match Summary

Lahore Qalandars scored 154 runs and lost all their wickets in 17 overs.

Multan Sultans made 214 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in 20 overs.

The result: Multan Sultans won by 60 runs.

Match Analysis

Multan Sultans dominated against Lahore Qalandars, securing a convincing 60-run victory in the 14th match of HBL PSL 9 at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium on Tuesday night.

Player of the match, Usman Khan, played a stellar role in Multan Sultans’ success, contributing significantly with the bat. Additionally, Usama Mir showcased exceptional bowling skills, making history with a remarkable six-wicket haul, leading Multan Sultans to their fifth win. Unfortunately, Lahore Qalandars faced their sixth consecutive defeat in this season of HBL PSL.

In the initial overs, Lahore Qalandars’ openers, Sahibzada Farhan and Fakhar Zaman, reached a 50-run mark, but soon faced setbacks. Fakhar Zaman’s stumps were dismantled by Aftab Ibrahim, and Sahibzada Farhan fell to Khushdil Shah. Debutant Faisal Akram quickly claimed his maiden wicket, dismissing Kamran Ghulam.

Despite Sikandar Raza’s brief onslaught, Lahore Qalandars struggled as wickets fell rapidly. Usama Mir’s exceptional performance, including a hat-trick chance, led to the downfall of the Qalandars’ innings. Rassie van der Dussen, George Linde, Jahandad Khan, and Salman all succumbed to Usama’s prowess, resulting in a historic T20 five-wicket haul for him.

Multan Sultans, opting to bat first after winning the toss, faced an early setback with Mohammad Rizwan’s dismissal by Shaheen Shah Afridi. However, Usman Khan and Reeza Hendricks steadied the innings, forming a solid partnership. Despite Hendricks’ departure, Usman Khan continued to score fluently, reaching his second HBL PSL fifty off 31 balls.

Tayyab Tahir and Iftikhar Ahmed further fueled the Sultans’ innings, with Iftikhar’s aggressive batting contributing an unbeaten 40 off 18 balls. Although Usman Khan missed his century, falling for a notable 96 in the last over, Sultans set a formidable total of 214-4 in 20 overs.

In the bowling department, Shaheen Shah Afridi took two wickets, while Carlos Brathwaite and Sikandar Raza each claimed one.

The ninth edition of HBL PSL will now shift from Lahore and Multan to Karachi and Rawalpindi. The upcoming match between Karachi Kings and Islamabad United is scheduled for February 28 at Karachi’s National Bank Stadium, with matches at Rawalpindi’s Pindi Cricket Stadium starting from March 2.

After the conclusion of the 14th match, the HBL PSL action will transition from Lahore and Multan to Karachi and Rawalpindi. Karachi’s National Bank Stadium is set to host the clash between Karachi Kings and Islamabad United on February 28 at 7 pm. Following that, the cricket fever will move to Rawalpindi’s Pindi Cricket Stadium, which will host matches starting from March 2 onwards.

Stay tuned for more exciting matches as the tournament progresses, promising more thrilling cricket moments and intense battles between the top teams in the league.

As the tournament progresses, fans can anticipate more thrilling cricket moments and intense battles between the top teams in the league. The matches ahead promise to deliver excitement and suspense as teams vie for supremacy and strive to secure their positions in the playoffs. Stay tuned for updates and coverage of all the action-packed encounters in the HBL PSL 9.

Match Stats

Multan Sultans Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Mohammad Rizwan – 0.5 ov), 2-74 (Reeza Hendricks – 8.3 ov), 3-151 (Tayyab Tahir – 14.6 ov), 4-211 (Usman Khan – 19.4 ov)

Lahore Qalandars Fall of wickets: 1-54 (Fakhar Zaman – 5.3 ov), 2-56 (Sahibzada Farhan – 6.3 ov), 3-89 (Kamran Ghulam – 9.5 ov), 4-107 (Sikandar Raza – 11.1 ov), 5-120 (Shaheen Afridi – 12.4 ov), 6-131 (Rassie van der Dussen – 14.2 ov), 7-132 (George Linde – 14.4 ov), 8-132 (Jahandad Khan – 14.5 ov), 9-152 (Salman Fayyaz – 16.2 ov), 10-154 (Zaman Khan – 16.6 ov)

Playing XI

Lahore Qalandars

  1. Sahibzada Farhan (WK)
  2. Fakhar Zaman
  3. Rassie van der Dussen
  4. Kamran Ghulam
  5. Sikandar Raza
  6. Carlos Brathwaite
  7. Jahandad Khan
  8. Salman Fayyaz
  9. Shaheen Afridi (C)
  10. Zaman Khan
  11. George Linde

Multan Sultans:

  1. Mohammad Rizwan (WK/C)
  2. Reeza Hendricks
  3. Usman Khan
  4. Tayyab Tahir
  5. Iftikhar Ahmed
  6. Khushdil Shah
  7. Aftab Ibrahim
  8. Shahnawaz Dahani
  9. Usama Mir
  10. Mohammad Ali
  11. Faisal Akram

Match Details:

Date: February 27, 2024 Time: 14:00:00 Venue: Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore Toss: Multan Sultans elected to bat Umpires: Ahsan Raza (Pakistan), Ruchira Palliyaguruge (Sri Lanka), Asif Yaqoob